F2 vs. F3 - which is easier for a novice?

Dear All,

Tech novice here just trying to make a few personal sites. Been struggling a bit with Foundry 2. I see Foundry 3 is now available, and it seems like something of a ‘new animal.’ So I’m wondering, would the new F3 be easier for a novice to deal with? Or should I just stick with F2 and slug it out?

Thank you,
-S

Hi Scott,

Which aspects of F2 are you struggling with?

F3’s modularity is massively powerful, and can create some stunning sites, but with great power comes some complexity - although unlike certain stack frameworks, it’s still written for us ‘normal’ folk, rather than techies.

I’d suggest you check the documentation and videos, which will give you a flavour of how it all hangs together - Adam’s support, documentation and videos are best-of-breed (for both F2 and F3) - I still lean on them heavily.

As with any “Which would be best for me?” query, it’s impossible to give a definitive answer, but if you detail your specific struggles here, there’s a good chance someone will point you in the right direction, or chip in with a solution for you.

3 Likes

Thank you Mr. Jackson, for your kind, thoughtful, and perceptive response.

It was 13 or 14 years ago that I first put together my sites using Elixir’s RW Themes. There were a lot of Themes to choose from then, but Adam S’s work resonated best with me, and worked out well. It took me a little time to ‘get’ how it all worked, but once I did, it was fun and pleasing to be creative and cobble things together.

Flash forward to now and those sites are obviously ancient, non-responsive, and soon my host may discontinue the old PHP version support. Another thing I don’t really understand, but I’m under the gun to update and create new sites.