Server suggestions

I’m new to RW/Stacks/Foundry, etc. and my impression it this system is primarily a site-build. Does anyone have recommendations for in-house servers for my new site?

Honestly, it depends on your use-case, so we’re going to need some more info for a definitive recommendation.

Is your site for Intranet or Internet?
Is this for a Corporate business or are you a one-man-band?
For prototyping/testing or live?
How many concurrent visitors are you expecting?
How technical are you?

My assumptions are you need Internet, you don’t have access to an IT team, it’s a live service, you’re hoping for lots of visitors, and (forgive me) you’re not a Unix/Linux whiz. (Do correct me if I’m wrong, though!)

So…

“In-house” is a huge risk if you need your site to be externally-facing - check the logs on your network Router to see how often your Public IP is being probed by external sources looking for a point of entry…

Unless you’re a security expert, get hosting space with someone like Chillidog Hosting or Dreamhost, and let them worry about Performance, Availability, Scalability, DDoS attacks, Hackers, Firewalls, DMZs, Backups, Patches/Updates, UPSs, Fire Suppression, etc.

That said, for prototyping I have an Apache setup (with PHP & MySQL) running on a NAS and also a Raspberry Pi. I wouldn’t dream of exposing either to the outside world, though - for that, I use Chillidog!

Adam
(Not that one)

1 Like

Thank you Adam for your response and your suggestions. I spent my career in some aspect of medicine, so am highly ‘technical’ in that realm. Since retiring, I have been self-teaching ‘high-tech’ subjects, tinkering around with RaspPi for over the past years; built a ‘bramble’ 6 months ago. Beginner programming in Python, R and Julia.

My plan is for an exclusive “family” blog site used by family members and not broadcast to any wider audience. My answers to your questions are “internet”, “one-man”, “both”, “fewer than 50” and "already answered.”